Alutations Yoga Types To Consider

alutations yoga types

Alutations are the abbreviations for Ashtanga Yoga. There are many different types of Ashtanga Yoga such as Power, Powerhouse, Flow, Breeze, Kripalu and Kapalabhati. All the different types are based on a series of asanas (poses) performed in a sequence. Ashtanga means eight limbed, and each pose is intended to have a meditative and calming effect on the mind and body. The asana has been scientifically proven to improve health, physical well-being, and even reduce the stress and anxiety.

Popular Poses

A woman sitting at a table with a laptop and smiling at the camera

The first three poses are extremely useful in relieving tension from the body. These types of asanas can be used in conjunction with the other yoga postures. For example, you could perform a power asana then a flow asana after a period of relaxation. The benefits of Ashtanga are similar to that of a long, rigorous aerobic exercise. This is because the sand burns about as many calories as a moderate walk or run, but has significantly less impact on the body than regular aerobic exercises.

Another popular form of Ashtanga Yoga, known as Power Yoga, is also excellent for blood circulation. It tones muscles, increases flexibility and helps the body to remain limber and strong. There are a number of versions of Power Yoga, each varying in difficulty. They include Kripalu, Powerhouse, Flow, and Hot Yoga. All are very intense workouts that will challenge your body.

Breeze Yoga

Breeze is the type of Ashtanga Yoga that started with Bikram Yoga. The goal of this type of Ashtanga Yoga is to sweat out toxins through the urinary tract. The poses focus on breathing, meditation, stretching and strengthening. There is no equipment required. However, some instructors may require their students to wear an apron or use a towel to wipe their face or hair as they perform the asana.

An extremely popular and effective series of yoga classes, Hatha Yoga is suitable for both beginners and professionals. It is practiced in a flowing sequence, with frequent pauses for breathing. This type of Ashtanga Yoga was developed by Bikram Yoga, the most famous practitioner of yoga. Unlike most other types of yoga, Hatha does not focus on pranayama, which is controlled breathing through the nose. Instead, it concentrates on the breath, which itself can be a powerful healing practice.


An extremely gentle type of Ashtanga Yoga, Bhakti is done very slowly, with only the palms and feet touching the ground. In Bhakti, there is no effort to move from one posture to another. In fact, the positions of these Asanas are meant to be deeply relaxing. This type of yoga was developed by Bikram Yoga, who is well-known for his serenity. Like other types of yoga, Bhakti has its own specific set of mantras, as well as a sequence of postures.

An intense physical workout, Ashtanga Yoga requires a vigorous and continuous flow of movement. Since this type of yoga is demanding, it is not appropriate for beginners or those unable to exert themselves physically. Because of this, Ashtanga Yoga is not usually undertaken by women. Rather than doing regular yoga positions, Ashtanga Yoga incorporates a series of energetic movements that force the body to adapt. The sequences of Asanas are performed quickly and repeatedly, which results in muscular tension, breathing difficulties, and increased pulse rate.


When you’re interested in exploring all the different yoga types out there, make sure you do plenty of research. You want to choose an exercise that is going to help you achieve your physical goals. There are many yoga types to choose from, so consider what your goals are before choosing a particular type. If you have any health conditions or illnesses, make sure that your doctor is aware of your intentions to incorporate yoga into your lifestyle.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter