Complete Guide on Raja Yoga

Raja yoga is based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali and aims to unite the individual’s mind with the universal consciousness. There are several different types of yoga, all with their styles and emphases. Raja yoga is the “royal” or supreme kind of yoga because it deals with the most important goal in life, realizing one’s soul, which some people call God, and thus reaching liberation. If you compare this spiritual experience to royalty, then the other yogas are like noblemen; Raja yoga is the king.

Difference Between Raja Yoga and Hatha Yoga

A statue of a person

People sometimes confuse Raja yoga with Hatha yoga, but they are two entirely different systems of practice. Hatha Yoga is primarily concerned with physical culture and has only a very small element of meditation (and no emphasis on contemplation at all). People who want to learn the physical postures and movements that mimic some aspects of Raja yoga practice may do well to follow Hatha Yoga rather than Raja Yoga. However, those who want to learn about meditation and how it can be used as a tool for spiritual awakening should study Raja Yoga.

Yoga Sutras

A person sitting on the grass

Raja yoga is based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. These sutras were written in Sanskrit several hundred years after the Buddha, and they set out a clear and practical path for attaining self-realization or enlightenment through meditation. The most famous of these is the “Yoga Sutra”.

How is Raja Yoga Different From Other Forms of Yoga?

To achieve enlightenment through meditation, you can’t just sit there and expect it to happen. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali were written by a Raja yogi who understood that spiritual awakening cannot be forced, it must develop spontaneously over time. In the West, this is often referred to as “surrendering” or letting go. Surrendering to God, taking on the karma yoga attitude of selfless service, and meditating daily are all crucial parts of Raja Yoga practice.

Raja Yoga Has Three Components

– YAM: The individual’s ethical life and professional career.

– NIYAM: The individual’s spiritual practices.

– ASANAM: The individual’s physical postures and exercises.

The one that is most important in Raja Yoga is the practice of meditation. Meditation allows your mind to stop its restless activity, so you can enter a state of profound awareness and stillness, which brings about a sense of peace and freedom. This freedom is the main goal of Raja Yoga: to achieve liberation while living in the material world.

How Do You Practice Raja Yoga?

As we said above, there are three components to Raja Yoga: YAM (the individual’s ethical life and professional career), NIYAM (the individual’s spiritual practices), and ASANAM (the individual’s physical postures and exercises). To put it another way, Raja Yoga is all about control. You practice YAM to gain self-control; you practice NIYAM to gain control over the mind, and finally, the goal of ASANAM is to gain physical control.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter